How To: Access & Use Your Assigned VM Pool (Floating)

Tags VMView VMware

How to Use VMware View Client

 

Start the VMware Horizon Client:

If this is the first time you are using VM or if you have not used in a while, you will need to Add a Server to your VM Horizon Client.  Once the client is open, click Add Server and then enter view.dsu.edu.  Then double click View and enter your credentials to access VM pool.  This is your DSU username/password.  Do not use your email address.  Change the Domain dropdown to DSU before you click Login.  Double click the needed VM to start.

 

Logging In:

When you log into the VMware View Client, you will see any VM Pool that you have been given access to. 

The VMware View pool is a “floating’ pool. Here are some details about how a Floating VM works.  
  
Users will get a fresh VM every time they log in and the VM.  They are sharing it with other users.  This is due to the volume of students needing access to limited software licenses.

  • Users can log out by either logging out of Windows normally (click Start and Log Off), or by using the “Disconnect and Log Off” feature on the Options menu on the View Toolbar at the top of their screen. 
  • The Disconnect and Log Off option is the preferred method for exiting your virtual machine.  This method immediately frees memory and processing resources on the VMware servers, making it available for other users.  
  • Please do not Restart or Reboot your virtual machine using the Start Button. This can cause your virtual machine to “hang” and you won’t be able to get back into it later.    

If a user intentionally or unintentionally “disconnects” from their session programs will shut down, causing a loss of work. 

  • Disconnecting can take place intentionally by closing the View Client without logging off (clicking the X in the top right corner, for example) or by using the “Disconnect” feature on the Options menu on the View Toolbar at the top.  
    • Please do not do either one of these!  Disconnecting by closing the View Client without logging off can lock your virtual machine out.  
  • Disconnecting can happen unintentionally if Windows or the View Client crashes, or if the user loses their internet connection.   

Users MUST save their files to other locations, rather than saving to My Documents or to the Desktop on their virtual machine.  

  • The recommended option to save files is to connect to your OneDrive or SharePoint shares.  
  • Users can use the “Connect USB Device” feature on the top toolbar of the View Client to copy data to a USB flash drive. 
  • Users can email the saved files to their instructor or to themselves.  But note that some files do not email well because they are too large or anti-virus and anti-spam programs classify them as unsafe.
  • If the instructor is using a classroom management tool like Desire 2 Learn, users can upload and download files using the tools built into the course management system.  This is the highly preferred method.  
  • There are probably many other ways to store data, such as using an online storage app like OneDrive or SharePoint shares.  

Staff/Faculty:  Once you have been given access to a VM this will remain intact until requested removal or you leave the institution.

Students:  Once the official date has passed for final grades to be turned in for the current semester, students are removed from the VM pool and they will not be able to log in.  Have your instructor inform IT Services if you need access beyond that date.

 

Troubleshooting:

If you are having issues connecting with or using VMWare Horizon View Client please Report your VM Issue.

Details

Article ID: 74905
Created
Tue 4/2/19 4:51 PM
Modified
Tue 3/24/20 5:26 PM